The doll museum website is undergoing revision. Information and updates will be here, until the new website is complete.
The Doll Museum is open this summer on Wednesday from 10 to 2, and by appointment.
The Currier Doll Museum is a unique collaboration between a private donor, the Fryeburg Historical Society and the town of Fryeburg, Maine. Ninety-one year old Hazel Currier began collecting dolls in 1970. By the autumn of 2015 her collection exceeded 10,000 dolls and they needed a new home. She approached the Historical Society about donating the dolls and we accepted her collection with the promise of establishing a museum. The Museum and collection now reside in the historic Fryeburg Town House built in 1847 and located at 103 Lovell Road.
A visit to the Currier Doll Museum, with antique furniture and vintage dresses on loan from the Historical Society, is a unique experience. We have something for everyone!
Our Collections Include
- Porcelain dolls dressed in Victorian – era gowns.
- Shirley Temple Dolls
- American Girl Dolls
- Kewpie Dolls
- Cabbage Patch Dolls
- Dolls of historical and literary figures
- Rag dolls, wooden dolls, corn husk dolls
- International dolls
- Action Figures
- Amazing collection of Barbie Dolls – Collectors’ items still in their boxes.
- And hundreds of Barbies dressed in hand made dresses designed and crocheted by Hazel.
We warmly welcome civic organizations, nonprofits and tour groups! Please email Director Sally Whitaker at [email protected] to schedule a private showing. We also book private showings of The Col. Samuel Osgood House which is furnished with antiques, vintage clothing, art, more dolls and a research library. Let us know how we can make your visit educational and enjoyable!